Tags

In your blog, discuss which theory/ies might be most applicable to your instruction and outline a specific activity/assignment/exercise that would facilitate learning according to that theory. Outline, design, or wireframe that activity in a way that  makes sense to you so you will be able to design it more in depth when you have time. Post all of this in your blog.
PowerPoint works great for developing wireframes; use anything that is quick and easy and don’t try to make it pretty!

My approach to instruction is most likely a mix of all theories mentioned with the tendency to push for a constructiviste approach. I like students to dive into the research right away and understand and develop meaning after they have done things (see the introduction of Cooperstein/Weidinger article).

An activity that I had students do is to compare the way how results of research is presented in a scholarly journal and a popular magazine. In the beginning, I would ask students to search in pairs for an article in ‘psychology today’ on shopping (Nov 2013). We would discuss the form and the content of the little article qualifying the article as not academic.

The article is based on a study that has been published in an other journal and in a next step, I let students find this article via the library homepage (in twos). After finding the study, I ask the students (in twos) to compare both articles (find out how the present the data of the research).

I have one student using the white board to write down the criterias that the class brings forward to distinguish the scholarly article from the popular article.

In general, I do ask one pair of students to use the instructor computer to show everybody how they found an article or how they use the library webpage to find information. I ask questions such as if there is a different way of searching or I point out a few things that might be important to know such as the federated search.

