Read the How to Choose the Best Ed-Tech Tools article and skim/review the appropriate NMC Horizon Report for your institution (i.e. Library, Higher Ed, K-12, or Museum) and think about your final project for this course. In a new blog post, answer the following: What technologies (and these can be old, new, or emerging) might be most appropriate for your final project? Does your final project align with any of the trends represented in the Horizon Report you reviewed? Now answer the first two questions posed in Consider section of the 5-Step Ed-Tech Integration Model from the How to Choose article.

Thinking about my final project, I am not sure to use any kind of new technology to support my teaching.

I might think about using blogs for a semester long course as a kind of research log blog as one of my leanring goals in our Freshman expereince seminar is to create a learning community. Peer endorsement can help to achieve this learning goal. Besides, from a general education perspective, I am keen on the idea to give feedback and Freshman students should learn this as well. The peer endorsement is one way of achieving this + students learn from each other which I like a lot and is another central idea of our freshman experience.

For more details about AUP’s Frshman experience (First Bridge), follow the link https://www.aup.edu/academics/undergraduate/general-education/firstbridge

Another important aspect of teaching is getting students involved and creating an interactive classroom. Taking a constructiviste approach and thinking about getting student’s attention, I might use clickers or software’s such as polleverywhere.com or socrative.com to engage students.

It does not seeem that my technology use is not aligning with any trends of the Horizon Report. Skimming the Horizon Report, I acknowledge the discussion on games&gamification or the mobile trend which are in a way ‘buzz words’ at the moment, but I am not sure if both trends will have the impact as described by the Horizon Report. I might, for the fun of students, use shazam or soundhound within a library exercise to make them reflect on what search engines are and how they work.

Looking at the section of the 5-Step Ed-Tech Integration Model from the How to Choose article, a conversation with a faculty member that I had yesterday comes to mind. We talked about how to get the attention of the students after my library session in the afternoon. We said that it is a tough enterpresie to catch the students attention after they already had two classes during the day and otivate them to pay attention what is said during the library session. Besides, they do not have an immediate paper to write which is due only in 2 month. This conversation recalled me that the teachable moment and the embeddedness of library instruction adds more to the motivation and attention of the student sto the learning content. Put otherwise, I can look at the 5-Step Ed-Tech Interation Model but without attention and motivation, the students will not connect to the teaching.Ā 

